Item Returns and Curbside Pickups: As of Tuesday, May 26 Westford residents wearing masks and gloves, may return library materials in the rear drive-through Book Drop. As of Monday June 1, patrons may order materials via our website form for contact-free CURBSIDE PICKUP Monday through Friday. Please check back for updates on our pop-up Fresh Air Library, Summer Reading Programs, virtual offerings and collections.

Board of Trustees

The primary role of the Board of Library Trustees shall be:

  • To act as legal representatives of the J. V. Fletcher Library and as official civic advocates of its service program.
  • To develop Library administrative and program policy and to set Goals and Objectives for service.
  • Management of, and authorization of expenditures from, Trust Funds; management of the Fine Arts and Historical Arts assets of the Library.
  • Selection, hiring and evaluation of the Library Director
  • Determination, with the Director, of service priorities for preparation of annual budgets, recruitment to staff, program development and facilities management.
  • Ultimate oversight of Trust Fund expenditures primarily in the nature of:
    • Public Programming
    • Continuing Education and Staff Development
    • Fine Arts Insurance, Historical Conservation
    • Public Relations relating to Long Range Goals and Objectives  
    • Equipment, Capital and Specialized Expenditures
    • Library Materials

MEETING SCHEDULE & MINUTES

The Board of Library Trustees regularly holds open meetings the first Monday evening of each month, convening at 7:00PM at the J. V. Fletcher Library; see posted meetings here.  The Library Facility Needs Committee — a joint Committee comprised of Trustees and members of the Permanent Town Building Committee — met 36 times from 2014 to 2016 during the duration of the MBLC Planning and Design Grant.

See Library Trustees Minutes and Library Facility Needs Committee Minutes here [Click on the drop down menu under SEARCH MEETING MINUTES and select “Library”] 

NAMEEMAILELECTED
TERM ENDS
Elizabeth Diercks, Secretarybdiercks@westfordma.gov6/06 Jt. Appt.5/22
Glen Secor, Chairgsecor@westfordma.gov7/18  Jt. Appt.5/22
Hajo Koester, Treasurerhw.koester@verizon.net 
hkoester@westfordma.gov
10/07 Jt. Appt.5/20
Robert Price, Trusteebobpricewestford@gmail.com5/175/20
Alisha Hillam, Friends’ Liaisonalishahillam@gmail.com5/19 (2 yr term)5/21
Marianne Fleckner Foundation Liaisonmfleckner@acton-ma.gov10/04 Jt. Appt.5/21

What are you looking for?